7 Blog

Movies, dining and things to do / Spokane and North Idaho

DGA hands nominations to the usual suspects

The Director's Guild of America has announced its nominations for 2013 movies. The nominees (for those too lazy to click on the link):

Alfonso Cuaron for "Gravity" (pictured above).

Paul Greengrass for "Captain Phillips."

Steve McQueen for "12 Years a Slave."

David O. Russell for "American Hustle."

Martin Scorsese for "The Wolf of Wall Street."

Notable trivia: Scorsese's is his 11th nomination (he won for his 2006 film "The Departed"). Cuaron, Greengrass and McQueen all are enjoying their first nominations, Russell his second ("The Fighter," 2010). Note: An earlier version of this post had mistakenly identified Russell's first DGA-nominated film as "The Wrestler,' which was — as Pete Porter points out — was directed by Darren Aronofsky.

The winner will be announced during ceremonies on Jan. 25.